Asian Student Commission


In the 1960s, many changes were made on campus in the midst of the civil rights movement.  Many minorities allied themselves with the already prominent African American rights movement, as minorities of the time still sought to feel accepted and belonging to a group.  Together, they proposed a Minority Affairs Commission to the ASUW Board of Directors on February 18th, 1971, which was then passed the following week, on February 25th.  The MAC, as it was abbreviated, was comprised of two student representatives per each represented minority group: Black, Chicano, American Indian, and Asian, as well as two appointed representatives by the Board.

The MAC was renamed the Inter Cultural Commission following a name change request on January 29th, 1980.  In the same year, however, on May 27th, the ICC received note that there would be no funding for ICC for the following year.  Despite an appeal by the ICC Director on May 29th, the decision was not changed.

Following this, the Asian Student Association (ASA) started to take on the role of commission for all Asian students on campus, requesting funds from the Finance & Budget Committee (F&B) through the 1980-1981 school year, before turning in a full budget request for the 1981-1982 year.  To remain consistent with the other ASUW Commissions, a name change request was put before the Board on May 8th, 1985.

On May 15th, 1985, the ASA was formally renamed the Asian Student Commission, and exists to serve the Asian & Asian American student community on the University of Washington campus, with some outreach to communities in the Greater Seattle area.

asc volunteersIMG_6078


  • Entity of the Year 2013-2014
  • Collaboration of the Year [JCC]  2013-2014
  • Entity of the Year 2009-2010
  • Event of the Year 2007-2008

Past ASC Assistant Directors

  • Eric Chen, 2016-2017 

Past ASC Directors

  • Sam H. Le, 2016-2017
  • Kenton Nakamura, 2015-2016
  • Johnson Nguyen, 2014-2015
  • Tony T. Vo, 2013- 2014
  • Melissa Yang, 2012-2013
  • Melvin Taing, 2011-2012
  • Chansothea Phok, 2010-2011
  • Stacy Huynh, 2009-2010
  • Paul Boupha, 2008-2009
  • Kaori Miyake, 2007-2008
  • Jennifer H. Hahn, 2006-2007
  • Howard Kim, 2005-2006
  • Gene Chen, 2004-2005
  • Jane Chung, 2003-2004
  • Jennifer Surapisitchat, 2002-2003